You are here

Implementation of the 2014-2020 period

During the 2014–2020 budget period of the European Union, Estonia will receive 4.4 billion euros as support from the following structural and investments funds:

  • European Regional Development Fund (ERDF)
  • European Social Fund (ESF)
  • Cohesion Fund (CF)
  • European Agricultural Fund for Rural Development (EAFRD)
  • European Maritime and Fisheries Fund (EMFF)

The five main funds cooperate in order to support economic development in line with the Europe 2020 strategy in all Member States of the European Union. 

A partnership agreement, which covers the five aforementioned funds, was signed between Estonia and the European Commission on 20 June 2014, establishing the following:

  • Funding priorities
  • Objectives and expected results
  • Prerequisites for using euro funds
  • Overall management of the administration of instruments

Based on the partnership agreement, an operational programme of the Cohesion Policy funds was prepared under the leadership of the Ministry of Finance, which was approved by the European Commission on 10 December 2014. The operational programme describes specific objectives and expected results (including for each fund separately) of using the EU instruments in various fields of activity that receive funding, as well as measures and their funding:

On the basis of the partnership agreement, two more operational programmes will by prepared under the leadership of the Ministry of Agriculture:

  • Operational Programme for the Estonian Rural Development Plan 2014–2020
  • Operational Programme for the European Maritime and Fisheries Fund 2014–2020